Van Gaal: This is the best group of players that I had

The Netherlands has left a great impression on the World Cup, which ended as it began, a decisive victory against the favorites. After Spain (5:1), “tulips” beat Brazil (3-0) in a battle for third place reached as unbeaten.

van gaal Wcup 2014

Selector Louis Van Gaal after the match with Brazil superlatives talking about his team, “the best he has managed.”

– This is the best group of players I’ve ever lead – said the coach of the Netherlands and then summed up the performance of his team.

– We achieved nearly two goals per match, and we received only four. We were eliminated at the worst possible way, after a penalty. Better that we lost 7:1 … we were so close to the finals – he added.

Van Gaal set a new record at the World Championships, as the first coach that has all 23 players into play, such as third goalkeeper Vorm handed a chance in the very final match against the Costa Rica.

– I am happy that I could do that, but I’ve not made ​​that decision all by myself. Players asked for it.  I told to Vorm that I would introduce him if we led 2-0.

It’s not the first time that all players get a representation of time on the World Cup. It’s happened before with France in 1978, Greece and Russia in 1994., but the time limit was at 22 players that the selectors could lead.

 

 

Leave a comment